Where to find used Prius

Discussion in 'Toyota Prius Family' started by manatee08, Dec 28, 2007.

1. manatee08

manatee08 New Member

I'm about to become a starving PhD candidate grad student, and I'm on the search for a new (used) car. I'd like something that will last me the duration of time I'm a grad student so I only have the expense of a new car once while I'm on a meager income... the Prius seems like a good choice because I can buy nice things like food and maybe even the occasional piece of new clothing with the money I'll save in gas. ;)

I'm looking for a Prius with under 50k miles and navigation system (I am a hopelessly lost individual). My current car has a Blue Book value of about $2000, and I really would not like to take out more than $15k in loans to get the car (they'll be student loans, I'd like to keep them to a minimum).

So in total, I have about $17k to spend. Any suggestions for a starting point? Or am I being unrealistic about price?

I've looked and haven't really found anything that fits the bill...

I'd love some direction. Thoughts from current Prius owners?

2. Right Lane Cruiser

Right Lane Cruiser Penguin of Notagascar

Welcome Manatee08!!

I would love to give you direction but since the Prius tends to hold its value ridiculously well (60K mile vehicles selling for nearly new prices??? :confused:) to get something in your range will likely require you to "settle" for many more miles than you may be comfortable with.

Would you consider a solid used Corolla with a stick? One of those could be had for a lot less and if you are willing to work at it you'll be able to squeeze more than 50mpg out of one with the right routes, etc. You could probably afford to get a Garmin GPS unit to go in one of those if you did go that route.

I know it isn't the answer you wanted, but it could be more realistic to consider this on a limited income?

3. xcel

xcel PZEV, there's nothing like it :) Staff Member

Hi Manatee08: