How Tarabell got wild, drafted a truck, and got a life.

Discussion in 'The Daily Grind' started by tarabell, May 4, 2006.

1. tarabell

tarabell Well-Known Member

Apologies to any “Opal Mehta” fans. Well ok I didn’t exactly get wild, but for me it was close. For you guys, the thread title is a take from a hugely successful chick book up to the point it was discovered the 18 year old author had heavily plagiarized from at least 2-3 other popular chick books.

First, you have to remember: I was a very different driver over the last 35 years behind the wheel. I was trained to focus on nothing else but getting where I’m going as fast and safely as possible, and everyone else on the road seemed to be doing something “other” than just driving. Especially in the last few years, with cell phones. One of the rules drilled into my head (I think by my Dad) was always “taking the advantage” while driving. That meant if you’re coming to a stoplight behind one or more cars and the lane next to you is empty, take that lane and be first at the light. If someone in front of you is going slower or seems distracted, you go around them, because they’re likely daydreaming or talking on their cell and their lack of attention is going to cause them to do something really stupid soon.