Possibly Poor Prius Performance

Discussion in 'Toyota' started by jss, Jan 3, 2009.

1. jss

jss Member

I'm a newbie - to the site and the Prius. I bought a 2009 Prius two weeks ago. According to the MPG display I'm getting <23 MPG. I only drive ~6-7 miles/day, and have only filled the tank once. I live in a hilly city that's been in the 20's - 30's F. The Toyota dealer told me that the MPG display is unreliable and that I should go by miles between fill-ups and how much gas I need to fill the tank.

Help?

2. JusBringIt

JusBringIt Be Inspired

Hello Jss and welcome to cleanmpg. I can assure you that you would have to work extra hard and purposefully be trying to set a track speed record in order to get <25mpg in your prius. I do not own one but there are plenty of members here who do who can help you achieve 3 times what your current consumption display says. Your car needs some break-in time as well. The ifcd may be off also, so fuel consumption should be calculated at the end of the tank by dividing miles driven by fuel used to fill up.

Good luck!

3. Chuck

Chuck just the messenger

Welcome to CleanMPG!

Some Prius drivers will be around soon, but hills are a killer.

The difference for me driving at 80F and 20F is at least 15%.

If you put your 6-7 miles in one trip, your Prius is getting warmed up - maybe.

While you can improve on this by doint things like moderating your speed and accelerations, your fuel economy will definitely be better on a highway at 50-60mph on a warm day.

4. jss

jss Member

Thanks JusBringIt and Delta Flyer. If I'm understanding right, it sounds like the iFCD may be "off," but would it really be that far off? And would 23 MPG be possible in a Prius, even if only 3 miles are driven in cold weather? Thanks again for your help.

5. JusBringIt

JusBringIt Be Inspired